Yarn Along

IMG_0050It’s been a bit of trial and error on my needles lately.
I just about finished a custom order hat before realising that I’d got my numbers wrong somewhere along the way – start again. Luckily hats for little people don’t take too long, and there will always be someone else who needs a small hat.

And after casting on the mammoth 411 shawl stitches last week I started to knit them. Well, I had the best intentions. The pattern recommended a thumb cast-on, which was nice and quick to do, but then such a pain to knit. There was some swearing involved. And then, I got to the middle and saw the thread was broken.
I didn’t cry but I had to eat a lot of ice cream.
I was undecided whether to start over, or try something new. But when I attempted to pull the old stitches of the needle they were so stuck – that was my sign to look for new patterns. Hmpf.

So. I cast on for a Baktus scarf, which is a lovely pattern, easy, straight-forward, economical with your yarn, and free.
But now I don’t like the first shades of turquoise green appearing in that leftover half skein of Noro as much as the next, and also I think I might start over with the stockinette version rather than the seductively easy garter stitch. I’m a bit fussy like that.
I feel like it’ll look a bit more elegant. The scarf is going to be a present, and I think the person is more of a stockinette than a garter kind of person, if you know what I mean..

IMG_0037Oh dear, now I spent all my time writing about knitting – but I did finish my last book by Jojo Moyes, The Last Letter from Your Lover, which was nice enough but still can’t beat my favourite by her.
I’m not sure what to read next – there is still that pile

This entry was posted in Knitting, Reading and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. Urgh, I loath those first few rows after a thumb cast on. Glad to hear it’s not just me!
    x

  2. Kate says:

    Oh dear, I hope this week’s projects don’t give you so much trouble! I love all the colors you’re working with.

  3. corrabelle says:

    I think Ice Cream truly does fix everything. (Even if it’s only for a moment. haha.)
    And Noro is unpredictable like that. I’ve unwound an entire ball on many occasion to find the section that I like.

  4. Janell says:

    I love that ice blue yarn. I can’t wait to see what it looks like all knit up.

  5. joannna says:

    Oh man I love the colours in that first photo. Completely delicious… must find that skein!

  6. Leigh says:

    Gorgeous colors ~ Can’t wait to see it! Found you via Ginny.. Happy knitting..

Leave a Reply

