Bark rubbings

IMG_0013

We made these little bark rubbing books for our nature exchange a few weeks ago. It was really good fun and Kaya now thinks we should make more of these for Christmas presents!
We cheated a little bit because we didn’t have much time left towards the end, so we went to a local arboretum to get interesting trees with minimum travel. Armed with a notepad and wax crayons off we went. I’d promised the husband that it would be a short outing, but this bark rubbing gets a little addictive. Don’t say I didn’t warn you.
We did about a dozen trees or so, and when we got home I cut our A5 papers in half to make them into two booklets, one to send away, and one to keep.
I cut out coloured card roughly postcard size, and stuck in the bark rubbings along with stickers with the tree’s names on.
I punched three holes in one end and found this way of binding on pinterest (of course I can’t find it now). There weren’t any instruction on how to do it, so I suspect my way was a little on the creative side, but the end result looked good enough!

IMG_0014 IMG_0017 IMG_0015IMG_0073

This entry was posted in kids, Nature and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bark rubbings

  1. Linne says:

    Love these! What a great idea for a gift! Thanks. ~ Linne

  2. Katie says:

    Great idea! We have a wonderful arboretum on the local university campus and I have taken a couple of trips there this Fall with my daughter. At 13 months, she isn’t quite old enough to “do” much there at this point, so I’ll have to keep this project in mind.

  3. lvaletutto says:

    I love this idea! What a great gift idea too.

Leave a Reply

