Making & Listening

IMG_0057

Making:
Biscuits. Lots of them. These are Vanilla Coins.
Mix 300g flour, 80g sugar, 175g cold butter, 2 egg yolks, 100g ground almonds and the seeds scraped from 1 vanilla pod. Form 2 long sausages from the dough and refrigerate for 2 hours.
Preheat oven to 160ºC, cut dough into 1cm thick slices, and bake for 15 minutes until lightly golden. 
Sprinkle with vanilla sugar.
Enjoy.
And then, use the leftover egg white towards making some of these coconut macaroons.

Listening:
Much of the same, rotating Christmas CDs and singing along while cooking.

Now I shall have to eat some of those biscuits, because all the tins are full and we’ll need some space for more!

 

 

p.s. If you still need a last minute stocking filler: Friday 20th December is the last posting date for UK deliveries. Any orders placed in the shop by noon tomorrow will still go out on Friday, and remember: I can wrap them and send straight to the recipient!

 

*Making & Listening Along with Dawn.

 

This entry was posted in Cooking & Baking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Making & Listening

  1. Dawn Suzette says:

    Oh, my. Those little coins sound yummy. I love butter cookies but have not found a replacement recipe that does not use regular flour. I need to get on that!
    Thanks for sharing this week!

  2. tamara says:

    Those biscuits look so yummy! I’ve never heard of vanilla sugar but it sounds so good – will try this recipe for sure but I think we will use coconut oil instead of butter and gluten-free flour (a flour & dairy-intolerance in this family) and see how it goes.🙂

    We have been listening to holiday music as well until my littlest has had enough then it’s Yo-Yo Ma and then quiet. The quiet can be nice too.

    Love you knits by the way – makes me want to pick up my sticks!

  3. Katie says:

    My cookie jar is empty right now, so I now what I am doing this afternoon!

  4. Katie says:

    oops, “know”. I was too focused on what cookies I am going to bake!

  5. Hey Svenna,
    der Engel ist angekommen und ich bin soooo glücklich.
    Ich finde Ihn wundervoll. Ganz genau passend zu meiner Engelleidenschaft.
    Vielen lieben Dank und wenn Du magst, dann würden wir Euch/Dir gern einmal
    “richtig” schreiben. Vielleicht schickst Du mir per mail Deine Postanschrift, wir würden uns
    sehr freuen. Ganz liebe Grüße und einen schönen Freitag.
    Kathi

    P.S. Ich habe Dir meine neue Blogadresse hinterlegt, ich mußte meinen Internetauftritt
    etwas verbessern ;o) Dazu persönlicher mehr, wenn Du magst?!

  6. karen says:

    delicious🙂 I find that the cookies are disappearing faster than I can make them now that the kids are home.

  7. enim sou says:

    Yummy! I´d really appreciate to have some of them now with my coffee!

Leave a Reply

