Yarn Along

IMG_0042I finished The Secret Keeper and really enjoyed it. I will definitely add some more Kate Morton books to my library reservation list (any recommendations?). But first I have been given some books as presents that I am looking forward to reading. Next up (going through the books chronologically in oder of receipt): And the Mountains Echoed.

IMG_0085I ordered the yarn for these bunnies back in September. They were meant to be for Christmas, but somehow that never happened.
At story time in our local book shop I started talking to the lady there about knitting (showing up with children wrapped up in handknits does that). She showed me a book (this one) that has a knitting pattern in the back for the toy that the book is about.
I really liked the idea for Kaya’s birthday (a present for me or for the little guy? Ahem..), but wasn’t so sure about knitting an armadillo… I thought maybe a more familiar animal would be better.
Then I remembered the bunnies, and decided to choose a bunny book instead to go with them.
(I also remembered, when I was little I once I got a stuffed tiger who came with his very own story. But then my dad is a writer so he can do that sort of thing! Now, I didn’t write the story but I made the cuddly toy.)
I chose The Velveteen Rabbit, not a book I knew but one I’d heard about. The rabbit in the story doesn’t wear a stripey jumper, and our bunnies won’t have pink ears, but we’ll put that down to artistic licence, yes?

Even though it’s become sort of a birthday present now (any excuse for some knitting, right?) I originally meant to make two, and that’s what I’m doing. Bunny brothers.
I’ve been able to knit away without questions asked, but once the seaming and stuffing started that was over. Mama knitting by itself is so normal, even a bit boring to the little guys I guess, but I’m sure cute little bunny heads wouldn’t be!
So now progress is refined to the secrecy of late evenings. The big bunny brother is pretty much done. Fingers crossed the little brother will also be ready (and maybe both of them even dressed?) in time.

IMG_0065

Current state of progress: one half leg, two arms, one bunny tail, seaming x 1, stuffing x 1, (plus two jumpers and two pairs of shorts) still to go.

 

This entry was posted in Knitting, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. woolythymes says:

    these are just the cutest!!! I want to knit some for ME!!!

  2. Emma says:

    Amazingly cute!!

  3. Kymberly says:

    These are too cute. I’m sure the boys will love them.

  4. Christine N says:

    So in love with your little bunnies. I used to have rabbits and miss it so much.

  5. Katie says:

    “And The Mountains Echoed” sounds like a book I would really enjoy (read the review on Amazon) – thanks for sharing. The bunny is just adorable! Holding a give-a-way contest on my blog today for a crocheted Sock Monkey hat if you’re interested in some more yarn animal fun.
    http://lifewiththecrew.typepad.com/my-blog/2014/01/hum.html

  6. Kelly J. R. says:

    That bunny is just about the cutest thing I’ve ever seen!

  7. Tracey says:

    I love Kate Morton and am just starting The House at Riverton. I don’t think you can go wrong with any of her books.
    I think your bunnies are the cuties things ever!

  8. Dawn says:

    They are very cute, don’t forget Easter is just round the corner!

  9. *kate says:

    Adorable! Sounds like a gift that will be much loved.

  10. That bunny is so cute!

  11. that bunny is ADORABLE!! I just read “my notorious life” by Kate Manning & really liked it!

  12. Super cute. I loved the story of the Velveteen Rabbit when I was a kid. I hope your children enjoy it as well.

  13. I love them! I hope the boys love them… Kate plays with her knitted animals a lot!

  14. karen sue says:

    such a cute bunny. gave my son The Mountains Echoed as a birthday gift. More bunny Love!!

  15. karen says:

    Great book🙂 love the bunny and that mug is something that I would love to drink tea from!!

    • The mug is one of my favourite – the official Christmas Market 2012 mug from my hometown in Germany. We have all of them from 2008 – even though I hardly ever get to go, my mum buys her mulled wine in them and saves a mug for me every year🙂

  16. Super cute bunnies. I made lambies for my daughter and her friend a year ago. Those were a quick knit and cute.

  17. CathieJ says:

    The Forgotten Garden by Kate Morton is excellent. I recently read this book and can’t wait to read more by this author. Love the bunny!

  18. Becky says:

    These sweet bunnies have been in my Ravelry queue for so long. Thanks for the inspiration. I just might have to cast on!

  19. Pingback: Making & Listening | Stitch and Purl

Leave a Reply

