Hello, March

P1000089March sneaked in over the weekend, and suddenly we’re on a pink no. 3.
It is just as wet and grey outside, but I do believe the birds are singing a little bit louder, now that spring is officially approaching.
Lent is starting this week, Shrove Tuesday tomorrow – anything involving pancakes must be a favourite day of mine! Are you giving up something for Lent? One year I gave up on sugar, wheat and coffee, but then I always had good excuses, like being too pregnant or too sleep deprived to live without chocolate. I haven’t made up my mind for this year yet.

P1000233We made some of these pancakes today, the thick and fluffy kind, because I thought they’d be good for lunch and snacks tomorrow. Ha! As if there were going to be any left!

Buttermilk Pancakes*

Mix 2 cups of wholewheat flour, 1tsp baking powder, 1/2 tsp baking soda and 2 tsp cinnamon. In a separate bowl, combine 2 cups of buttermilk, 2 eggs (lightly beaten), and 2 tsp melted butter.

Mix the dry and wet ingredients, and fry in a little butter. 
I drop four separate tablespoonfuls at a time into my frying pan, which make great size pancakes for little hands.

We usually eat this with apple sauce, but there wasn’t time today. Good thing that Pancake Day isn’t until tomorrow! Although I think tomorrow we might go for the thin and elegant kind..

*I wrote the recipe down from somewhere pre-blogging times, before I thought of ever having to link back to something, so I have no idea where it’s from. Sorry.

This entry was posted in Cooking & Baking, Seasons and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hello, March

  1. damnvan1 says:

    Perfect with lemon and sugar

  2. Katie says:

    I let my boys each pick out a dinner each week and lately they have been asking for pancakes, waffles, pancakes, waffles. I just decided this week that we are going to institute a pancake or waffle night each week to save ourselves the planning. Yum!

  3. Katie says:

    We eat pancakes for breakfast and lunch around here! Though maple syrup is the topping of choice.

  4. Mmmm, pancakes. I feel like a bad southerner for never having had them fried before though!

Leave a Reply

