A bag for the little guy

P1020638

No Yarn Along post this week as not much is happening yarn-wise, but instead I can show you something else that’s been made this week.

So it appears that my youngest is at an age where one requires a kindergarten bag.
Gasp.
He won’t wear the rucksack he inherited from his brother, and instead prefers to wander about with my handbag or a lunch bag around his neck. So I decided to make him a simple version of this messenger-style bag.

This little bag was made entirely from scraps of fabric, leftover ends of bias binding, last little corners of wadding… I did not have to purchase a single thing for it.
The lining and strap are made from fabric I purchased a few years ago with the intention to make curtains. This fabric has become so many things already, none of which is anywhere near curtains, and there is still more left of it.

I used the same technique as for this bag, quilt-as-you-go. The extra layer of wadding makes this bag more sturdy, which I really like.
And the little guy seems quite happy with it as well.

 
P1020645

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A bag for the little guy

  1. karen says:

    you are clever and I love his new bag made just for him! now he has a place to put his treasures.

  2. No wonder he is happy with it. I would be, too. It is beautiful🙂

Leave a Reply

