Test Knitting

P1040845

 

I was recently contacted by a lady from Australia, asking if I would test the Australian Superfine Merino yarn by Cleckheaton. Why yes, I don’t mind if I do!

The yarn arrived super quickly, packed up in a little cotton string bag, and with a bobble hat pattern included.
The DK weight balls are a generous 65g and have the tag attached with a little woven clothes label, a nice touch. The merino yarn is lovely and soft with a good stitch definition and knits up very nicely. I really enjoyed using it.
I received the yarn in pink and aqua, just perfect for a little lady I’d been meaning to knit a hat for.
It was this pattern that came with the yarn (available for free), but I adapted it for a smaller head. More notes on Ravelry.

We especially went and bought a proper pompom maker – no more fiddly cardboard circles for me! I think this produced the most amazingly fluffy pompom ever. It also produced a bit of a pompom making craze around here.
Now the big boy has requested a hat just like that in yellow and black. With a big pompom, of course.

This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Test Knitting

  1. Pingback: Yarn Along | Stitch and Purl

  2. polwygle says:

    Lovely hat and I agree about the pom pom! It’s delightful. What brand of pom pom maker did you get?

Leave a Reply

