Yarn Along

P1040923

After finishing the lovely Merino Bobble Hat, I immediately cast on the first of the boys’ chunky vests. I better knit slowly, they are the last thing on the Christmas list!

Instead of reading (for lack of progress) I thought I’d share some of our listening with you. During Advent, we listen to a lot more music than any other time of year. These are our favourites:
Carols from King’s is a CD that could run here all day. It is beautiful and quiet(er) choir music and a firm favourite. Our particular CD is not available anymore, but there are lots of newer ones, like like this one.
My mum gave us a Christmas CD by Johnny Cash a few years ago. Very popular with the littlest boys, of all people!
From my days of watching Ally McBeal comes A Very Ally Christmas. Robert Downey Jr. sings River. Do I need to say any more?
Celine Dion is not a singer I usually listen to (probably due to an overdose of Titanic once upon a time), but I quite like her for the Christmas spirit.
And for little people, German ones: Glitzerschnee und Koblauchpizza by Frederik Vahle. Love.

What are your favourite Christmas CDs? We’ve been listening to these for many years now and I think we might invest in a new one for a bit of a change.

And for singing yourself, The Oxford Book of Carols gets a lot of use around here!

This entry was posted in Knitting, Reading, Seasons and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. karen says:

    my favorite christmas cds tend to be the old ones. Johnny Matthis, Frank Sinatra, and so on. I have a lot of the NOW that is what I call Christmas compilations. Chunky knitting will be a breeze!

Leave a Reply

