Saturday Apple Cake

20160206_140701

The other weekend I felt like apple cake. The good old fashioned kind, no frills. I couldn’t find a recipe I liked, so I texted my mum, and quickly got a photo from her hand written recipe book back.
Just what I’d been looking for.
So if you ever feel like apple cake, here is the recipe with a few tweaks:

Saturday Apple Cake

125g butter
100g sugar
2 eggs
a bit of lemon zest and a squeeze of juice
200g self raising flour
1-4 tbsp milk
apples

Beat butter and sugar, then add the eggs and lemon. Fold in the flour. If it needs a bit of liquid, add some milk. Put into a greased round cake tin.
Peel and quarter your apples, cut the tops a few times and arrange on top of the batter (I needed about 5 apples to cover the cake).

Bake at 180ºC/ Gas 4 for 35 minutes.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Saturday Apple Cake

  1. *kate says:

    That looks wonderful! I think I know what I’ll be making this weekend🙂

  2. Absolutely beautiful and perfect for a chilly Sunday afternoon🙂

Leave a Reply

